Mother’s Day Weekend

Disclaimer: This is almost definitely going to be a very… eclectic post touching on many topics because I’ve come to accept that I can’t bring myself to post more than once a week these days and otherwise things will just get left out or forgotten. Like that video of Satree’s Sports Day I started ages ago and am at the risk of never finishing. We’ll see.

Anyway, Friday was Queen Sirikrit’s 79th birthday, which also serves as Mother’s Day in this country. This meant that the first two periods of class on Thursday gave way to a Mother’s Day ceremony (which involved some singing and a lot of talking, which I’m sure was very heartwarming and all, but since my Thai’s still in its development phase I left after the traditional dancing). And it meant that there was no school at all on Friday. Hoorayyyy mothers!

king and queen, in their youth

dancers at school

The extended weekend couldn’t have come at a better time, since my friend Carolyn announced she’d be able to stop in on her way from Koh Phi Phi to Koh Phangan on Thursday night (after I last-minute flaked on our previous arrangement to meet in Phi Phi last weekend). She was our first real visitor (that we could plan for anyway) and it was fun/a bit strange (not in a bad way) to have that contact with ‘home’.

noticed this thai ice cream man while waiting for carolyn to show up

same same… but different

being that the weekend was starting early, it wasn’t hard to rally the troops for a meal at pom’s

an awesome picture of everyone. (grace, lisa, emma, carolyn, max, cian, jack, david, michelle)

[imagine emilie’s face photoshopped in]

will never get old

carolyn was eager to capture some motorbike moments. don’t worry, we’re parked here.

turns out self-photography is tough on a bike

on a really steep hill

On Friday evening we thought it would be a good idea to try to take the pets to the park. And yes, I said petS, because I did an off-beat and potentially inhumane thing and bought a collar/leash for Trix. I really thought that including her in the outings would maybe improve her mental health, but in actuality the trip might have had an adverse effect.

doesn’t seem to be enjoying the ride too much (her first since day one)

ollie’s cool though (and very handsome in his new collar)

‘i don’t like this thing on my neck. i shall chew it.’

bet you didn’t know there was a rabbit hidden in this photo.

ollie looks hungry…

on the way to jack and grace’s for dinner that night caught some mother’s day fireworks

Saturday morning I attempted to make these. I’d been talking about it for ages and the day finally came. I… wasn’t thrilled with them, but I don’t think it’s any fault of the recipe’s. I a) realized I’d never downloaded the recipe and was going by memory, and now see that my proportions were a bit off and b) suspect that my papaya was a little funny. However, the preparation phase did involve a moment where, as expected, I was able to marvel at a likeness of colors:

wall-licious

More noteworthy about Saturday was that we finally succeeded in making it to the elusive view point. But it was worth it.

reward for all you who don’t just skim through: awesome butterfly!

Wayne and I (read: mostly I) look pretty terrible in the picture I have of us up top so… use your imaginations. The rest of the weekend was pretty chill. I need to make a worksheet before running to yoga so I’ll leave you on this note:

turns out she didn’t like the collar, and managed to do this to herself.

Oh oh oh! And Ms. Mouse Cleans House so kindly passed the “Liebster Award” onto me. I’m totally breaking the rules (hopefully temporarily) and haven’t passed it on myself yet, because that worksheet still needs making and I’ll have to give some thought to whom to pass it onto anyway. But I did want to make sure I acknowledged her kind gesture. Thanks Ms. Mouse!


The goal of the award is to spotlight up and coming bloggers who currently have less than 200 followers. The rules of the award are:
1. Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.
2. Reveal your top 5 picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Copy and paste the award on your blog.
4. Have faith that your followers will spread the love to other bloggers.
5. And most of all – have bloggity-blog fun!

About Angela

I'm not actually a sleeping monk (though if I had my druthers...).
This entry was posted in Thung Song and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mother’s Day Weekend

  1. Jess A. says:

    i love your bunny.

  2. Pingback: Wan Po (Father’s Day) | i'm [still] having the THAIme of my life!

  3. Pingback: Tonsai Again; A Study in ‘Fros and Grouper Faces | …still having the THAIme of my life

Leave a Reply

